Living on Inspiration

wear-no-more: baggy pants

6 Comments

Today’s transformation just might knock your socks off. It did mine. Usually I can whip up these adjustments in under 2 hours. Not today. It took me all day. My poor sewing machine and I got in an awful fight, and I almost gave up! The humidity outside didn’t help at all. All around frustrating. That is until I finally finished and looked in the mirror!!! Here we go…

I’m loving the new ankle-pant look. It’s so stylish and perfect for shorties. They go great with practically any style of shoe. I really like pants that can help me pull of the shirt tucked in & un-tucked, always a plus. As usual, I am completely unwilling to pay what these places are asking. Mrs. El Cheapo.

The Loft: $69.50

Express: $69.90

J.Crew: $98.00

Café capri in seersucker

I have several pairs of pants in my wear-no-more pile. These pair have been in my closet for a few years, collecting dust. I think I wore them once, and now I’m embarrassed people saw me in public like this. They are made by Tracy Evans & supposedly a size 1. No way are these puppies a 1!!

After hours & hours. Headache upon headache. A coke, a cookie, and an episode of Gossip Girl…

Even though there are a few imperfections, and I might need to make a minor adjustment later, I’m VERY happy with the turnout. I love that they fit!

Thoughts? Leave a comment!

(Don’t forget to follow my blog via e-mail…in the column to the right >>signature

6 thoughts on “wear-no-more: baggy pants

  1. Love it!

  2. The pants look fabulous, Julia! Now I’m inspired to fix a pair or two. Any tips on how to (or how not to) cut them down? Did you use an existing pair of ankle pants as a pattern?

    • Thanks Holly! So glad you’ve been inspired! :-) I pretty much “eyed” the whole thing. I put the pants on inside out. Then pinned them all the way down the inside and outside if each leg. I thought about doing a tutorial, but my work is anything but professional… Just more learn as I go! Let me know if this helps! :-)

  3. Excellent! Definitely a HUGE improvement. I’ve been thinking of doing up a few pairs of my own as well, but I have quite a few more pressing projects to attend to first… story of my life. ~M.

    • M, Thanks so much for stopping by, and for your sweet comment! You will definitely enjoy the results when you find the time to work on some pants. I appreciate you following my blog… Now I’ll swing by yours to check out your projects! :)

Leave a Reply

